Chris & Tish

Hello,

You have so many couples to consider as possible parents for your baby and you have to compare and contrast the various qualities that each of the couples have and what you would want for your baby. Please be assured that we realize the tremendous burden that you feel in that you want to do what is best for your baby and that is why you are making these choices.

From our viewpoint, we would like to share with you our great desire to adopt a baby. We have been married for over 13 years. During that time, we have developed our careers and taken care of our financial planning for the future. We have known that the time is right to have children, but we are unable to conceive on our own due to infertility problems with both of us. We embrace the choice of adoption because I myself was adopted, as was my older brother (different birth parents). I always knew that I was adopted and I truly believe that no other child has ever been more loved than I was by my adopted parents. I talked to my parents many times about the importance of their decision to adopt me and what it has meant to me. They realized that I really appreciate what they have given me and that they have enabled me to live the great life that I have had to this point. I also met my birth parents seven years ago and I have learned a lot about my origins that I had wondered about for years. We believe how adoption is handled today as compared to decades ago is far better for all involved: the baby, the birth parents, and the adoptive parents. Therefore, my wife and I are familiar with the adoption process from all of the different perspectives and we are well-prepared to be adoptive parents.

Our strong religious beliefs have lifted our spirits and led us to this path of adoption. Also, we are both teachers. We chose our professions because we love being around children, but to not be able to have children to grace our home is practically unbearable. Being that we are teachers, we would both be off in the summer with our child to do all kinds of summer fun activities and vacation trips together. Tish would also take some time off of work when our little one came home.

Since we are teachers we value education. We are both active in that we enjoy sports and exercise. Among our interests are bike riding, taking walks, skiing in the winter, and we love taking trips. We have a couple of dogs that are loving around children.  They can provide learning opportunities for a child/children, teaching them responsibility as they care for them. We have a 4-bedroom two-story house with a big fenced-in back yard. Walking distance from our house are a great elementary and middle school. Also near our home are a playground, parks and sports fields, a forest, and the beach. It is the perfect place for outdoor recreation during all four seasons of the year.

We know that you did not ask to be in the situation that you find yourself in but we hope that you would be reassured that your baby would have a fine home and great upbringing and life as an addition to our family. It is a staggering choice that you have to make. We hope that we can help you through this difficult time in your life by assisting any way that we can. We would love to talk to you, if you would like to, and answer any questions you may have and put any fears to rest.

Thank you,

Chris and Tish

Adopting Family at a Glance

Father’s Name: Chris Mother’s Name: Tish
Occupation: Teacher Occupation: Teacher
Education: MA Social Sciences Education: MA Elementary Education
Religion: Catholic Religion: Catholic
Age: Early 40’s Age: Late 30’s
Ethnicity: Caucasian Ethnicity: Caucasian
Hair Color: Blondish Brown Hair Color: Brown
Eye Color: Blue Eye Color: Green
Height: 6′ Height: 5’4″
General Health: Excellent General Health: Excellent

Date of marriage: 06/14/1997

Children: None.

Interest and Hobbies: Chris enjoys watching sports, exercising, reading about history, listening to music, and anything having to do with food. Tish enjoys landscaping, gardening, walking, riding her bike, spending time with the dogs, and cooking. We both also love to travel to new places on vacation.

Home: We live in a 4-bedroom, 3 1/2 bath, two-story home that we had built recently in a new subdivision. We have a huge back yard. Our home is within walking distance to the elementary and middle schools. Nearby are parks and playgrounds. We also are near forests and the beach. There are many children on our street and in our neighborhood.

Pets: We have two dogs. They are Boxers. ZuZu is 5 years-old & Baxter is 1 year-old. We were ZuZu’s fifth home in a year when we adopted her. She was born deaf but we were able to teach her 35 hand signs. Baxter is a playful puppy. Both are very loving toward children.

Finances: We are financially secure and stable due to our careers as teachers. We own our home and cars outright. We have no debt of any kind along with plenty of savings.

Why are you interested in building a family though adoption: Chris and his brother were adopted so when we couldn’t have a child of our own through normal means, adoption was the most natural and obvious choice. God has a purpose for everything and we believe that He chose us to be adoptive parents, just like Chris’s parents were chosen to adopt him and his brother.

Openness to Birth parents: We are open to creating a relationship with the birth parent(s) that is suitable for all concerned. As an adopted child, I know all too well the importance in knowing about personal history. I would want my child to know everything about his or her life that he or she cares to know. I also understand that the birth parent(s) may feel the need to know that their baby has a good life. We want to make sure that everyone is pleased with the journey of adoption.

Childcare Plans: Tish will stay home for a few months when the baby arrives, then will go back to work. Daycare would be needed then. However, we are both teachers and have all holidays, weekends, and summers off, so childcare would be minimal. We are also home by 3:00 on the days we work so those days are short for daycare.

Statement of Faith: We were both raised in Roman Catholic homes. We believe that having a religious foundation is important. There is no better example for a child to obtain moral and ethical standards than to learn about the life of Jesus Christ and live his or her life accordingly. We will teach our child to keep his or her eyes on God and to believe in the power of prayer.

Type of child we wish to adopt: Infant to 6 months. Boy or girl. (Twins/Multiples would be fantastic!)

We are represented by Nightlight Christian Adoptions. If you need more information about us, or would like to meet us, please contact Nightlight toll-free at 888.933.2237

0 Comments

Please provide us with the following before posting a comment

Comments are closed.